Anonymous Guest

I need help please!!!

I am a student at NSU which is in Oklahoma. I have a girlfriend that is Japanese and her second langauge is English. She has many problems with remembering things let alone English. I am an English major and a native speaker and have enough knowledge of English and very little knowledge of Second Language Acquisition. The semester here is winding down quickly and I want to spend the one month break with her so I can help her with her English studies. She doesn't study that much and it is very hard to get her interested in it. I am not a teacher but one day I would like to be one. I want to help her but I have no idea what I can do. I have asked for help before from an ESL person on my campus but she is no longer in Oklahoma and all she sent me was a website of ESL stuff. I will appreciate any ideas or help with this please. Thanks!

Phil

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Japan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Japanese and English are very different languages and there are major conceptual differences between them that can make learning difficult. however, romance is a great motivator. To be honest, I would focus more on getting her to speak, rather than woerrying too much about grammar. If you need to consult a grammar, I'd recommend this:
    http://www.usingenglish.com/amazon/uk/019431197X.html

She can practice here:
    http://www.usingenglish.com/test/index.php

What I'd do, is think of how she will need to use English and take her through those situations. Teach her shopping vocabulary by going shopping with her. I wouldn't spend the month studying grammar. get out and about and into situations where she needs to talk to you and others and use that as the basis for improvement.