Member Type
Other
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
There are many times when I've heard an Indian English speaker use the -ing form when the simple present or simple past would be used by most other English speakers.

In the first case of your fair, however, you can use either. You watched people for a while -- there was duration. In your second example, you just say "we went" not "we observed" so the simple past would sound more natural to me.

bkpsusmitaa

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Bengali; Bangla
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
What do you mean by 2nd conditionals?

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic

bkpsusmitaa

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Bengali; Bangla
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English
I asked it here because
Barb_D had the above signature under her post

bkpsusmitaa

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Bengali; Bangla
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I am sorry I couldn't explain myself better :) . I should have added, "... in your (i.e., Barb_D's ) context".

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
I am sorry I couldn't explain myself better :) . I should have added, "... in your (i.e., Barb_D's ) context".
No problem. I thought you were being irrelevant. I was wrong. Sorry.

Barb_D

Staff member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
It means I don't know a lot of the finer points of grammar and I'm terrible at labels, but I can help you write naturally.

bkpsusmitaa

Member Type