Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    emsr2d2's Avatar
    emsr2d2 is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    21,358
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Missing "strikethrough" option

    I don't know if it's something to do with the plug-ins etc that have been disabled to try to get away from the malware warnings, but the "strikethrough" option has vanished from the basic toolbar. We can now only get to it by going "Advanced" which a) is a bit of a faff and b) I keep forgetting to do until I'm editing a post and suddenly realise I need to strike something out. I had taken to putting the code in manually but on one post earlier I mixed a / up with a ] and the code appeared in the final post, unnoticed by me but noticed by a learner.

    Any chance of getting it back on the basic toolbar? Everything else needed for basic editing is still there.

    Thanks.
    Remember - correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing make posts much easier to read.

  2. #2
    Tdol is online now Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    41,627
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Missing "strikethrough" option

    I hope so. In the meantime, for those that don't know it, the code is:
    Code:
    [strike]bit you want line through[/strike]
    which will appear as bit you want line through when you post it.

  3. #3
    5jj's Avatar
    5jj is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    28,169
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Missing "strikethrough" option

    It's still not there on the basic toolbar, which is a bit frustrating for some people. Is there any chance of getting this back, pretty please?
    Last edited by 5jj; 30-Apr-2013 at 07:55. Reason: typo
    Please do not edit your question after it has received a response. Such editing can make the response hard for others to understand.


  4. #4
    Amigos4's Avatar
    Amigos4 is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    31,339
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Missing "strikethrough" option

    I'll add my 'pretty please", also.

Similar Threads

  1. [Writer's Option] elaborate: with or without "on"
    By simile in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-Oct-2012, 15:56
  2. Usage of "missing", "missed", and "lost" in the past
    By Fabulous_Learner in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-Sep-2012, 15:36
  3. Missing a letter! "a parliamentary prsvate Secretary"
    By Odessa Dawn in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-Aug-2012, 22:54
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-Jun-2012, 08:53
  5. "becoming an option for most people in the near future"
    By Unregistered in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-Feb-2005, 04:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Hotchalk