• Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default To have yet to

Hi,
    I am new to this forum. I am an avid student of the American English grammar and its usage,focusing primarily on the correct use of formal English. In the future,I will be seeking answers for many of my grammar questions related to the proper identifications of modifiers and the word or word groups they modify,preferably from English professors at well-regarded colleges or universities.

That said,my very first question I shall post to this forum is the proper labeling of the phrase " to have yet to". Is it considered an auxiliary or helping verb which conjugates with the infinitive form of a main verb? For example,in the sentence "UPS has yet to come",is the phrase "has yet to come" the complete verb phrase of the sentence,with the auxiliary being "has yet to" and the main verb "come"?
    And what about the phrase "to be yet to" as in "I am yet to be convinced of the benefits of Yoga",or as in "He is yet to start his career"? Is it acceptable in formal English as an interchangeable form of "to have yet to",or is it non-standard or informal usage?

Thanks in advance for any proper response,
    Gianni

5jj is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: To have yet to

Welcome to the forum, Gianni X. Wong.

Try to relax a little. We are happy to deal with one small point at a time.
    That said,my very first question I shall post to this forum is the proper labeling of the phrase " to have yet to".
    There is no such 'phrase' as to have yet to.