I am writing to express my interest in pursuing the Ph.D. in communications in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. I am excited by the prospect of performing research and broadening my knowledge of wireless communications technology, and I believe I would make an excellent doctoral candidate. Professor Lian Zhao and I have discussed the Ph.D. program, and she has agreed to serve as my major professor should I be accepted.
Two years ago, I got my bachelor degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering, major in Telecommunication. Then, I had a scholarship to study a master degree in South Korea, where I am studying and working as a research assistant. My research interest include 4G LTE/LTE-Advanced network, radio resource management, device-to-device (D2D) communication, and signal processing for wireless communication. My prior academic background has focus on telecommunication and electronic, where I maintain an active interest. In the field of wireless communication, power and bandwidth are precious resources. There is great research attention on how to use these resources efficiently. My current work on the topic of D2D communication is an example. Our group has been working on it since 2012. We have focused on the scheme where D2D pairs reuse cellular resources, and proposed algorithms to allocate resources and manage mutual interference. Our proposal brings us a funded research project this year. Thus, I am particularly in researching new methods for managing radio resource in other advanced communication schemes. Professor Lian Zhao’s group is an excellent fit for me since my research is in her interest field. Especially, she has a funded project working on radio resource management for cooperative wireless communication networks, and she welcomes me to join her group in this research direction. Given my interests and experience, I believe I may also be a good candidate.