Dear Sir/Madam;
I am writing to express my interest in applying for Master of xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Aquatic ecosystems has always delighted me, being born and raised along the shores of xxxx. My affinity for aquatic sciences stems from the fact that aquatic ecosystems provide livelihoods for several individuals and the current threats facing these vital ecosystems such as overexploitation, climate change and human population increase. There is need to increase the understanding of the aquatic ecosystems so as to develop aquatic conservation decisions which are properly scientifically informed.
My academic background and professional experience has equipped me with the qualities required to meet the qualifications for this programme. I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in (Environmental Conservation and Natural Resources management) from the University of xxx, School of biological sciences. During my undergraduate studies I did a three months internship at the xxxxxx ichthyology section where I was introduced to fish biodiversity research techniques, and I did an individual research project ‘Merismatics and Mophometric comparison of Oreochromis niloticus from Lake Turkana (Kenya) and Sudd Swamp (The Republic of southern Sudan)-Supervised by xxxxxx)’. After my undergraduate studies, I got selected for the International Research Experience for Students- A project funded by the National Science Foundation of the USA in collaboration with the University of xxx, xxxx University, and the National Museums of xxxx-which focused mainly in Fish biodiversity, molecular laboratory techniques, aquatic invertebrates and the physical-chemical properties of water in the five major drainage basins in xxxx, I worked with a team of highly distinguished hydro-biologist, and it was a great start on my hands-on experience hydrobiology. After that, I have been working with xxxxxas a research mentee which involves workshops and seminars and research projects.