Interested in Language
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
Hi teachers,
I'm studying computer vocabulary and in particular I'm focusing on idioms and phrasal verbs generally used with a computer. And I have done some sentences trying to use what I have learnt. Could you give me please you opinion about what I have written and tell me if a native speaker would use these verbs the way I did?

1) Click on the link below to visit this website.
2) Select "options" from the pop up menu.
3) The printer didn't work well because I had forgotten to switch it on!
4) I stuck a print-out of the email on the wall.
5) Close all programs before you shut down ( I think also "turn off" could work in here) your pc.
5) You can scan in your pictures and email them to your friends.
6) Back up vital data on a floppy disk before there's a power cut and they get wiped out.
7) The pc sometimes takes ages to go on (can I say "come on" too in this sentence?) when I turn it on.
8) You need a password if you want to log in.
9) A teenager succeded in hacking into the bank's main database.
10) I hope the laptop doesn't boot up again or I'll never finish my work.
11) Scroll down the page till you get the item you want to.
12) Type in the password and go onto the Internet. (Is ""key in" a password the same?)
13) You need to wait. The computer is sifting through the data.

Do you think all the sentences make sense in this way?
How would you define "boot up" relating to a computer?

Thank you very much for your opinions.

J

J&K Tutoring

Mostly okay, but a few suggestions-
3. Doesn't make sense. If you forgot to switch the computer on, it wouldn't work at all, not "not well".
5. You have two number 5's. In the second one, I think you don't need the word in. 'You can scan your pictures and...'
6. Does anyone use floppy disks anymore? Also, I usually think of baking up to media. "Wiped out" may be too colloquial. Better to use 'lost'.
7. Maybe you should use 'boot up'.