Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Czech
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Brazil
I´m 33, originally from the Czech Republic. I started learning English at school when I was 13. I spent 5 years in the UK (when I was 22-27). I did my masters at a UK university. I´ve been teaching English in Brazil for 7 years now.

Yet, when I watch British or American movies, if I was to make a transcript, I´d get only about 60-70% of the words spoken.

When I listen to my students´ textbook recordings I understand practically everything, so there seems to be a significant gap between the textbooks´ English and the real spoken language.

I really don´t know what to do. It makes me feel rather incompetent. I watch movies quite often, with and without subtitles, but there seems to be very little progress in my comprehension.

Anybody has passed through the same experience? Any advice?

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Textbooks present a simplified tidy version of the language- the real thing is far messier and more complex. However, most native speakers would have to listen repeatedly to parts of a movie to make an accurate transcript.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
I have done paid audio transcription before now and I always have to rewind and listen to parts of the audio several times before getting an accurate transcription. People speak very quickly and very colloquially in TV shows and films so, as Tdol said, many native speakers wouldn't get it all right straight away either! The languages we learn at school and at private lessons are very different from the languages spoken amongst native speakers. It takes a long time to get to the point where you can understand a language like a native speaker would.

Esredux

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
Russian
Home Country