Post Thanks / Like

Question My pronunciation stinks

I stumble over the simplest phrases. Certain words are almost impossible for me to say, like 'butter' for example (or 'schedule'). I speak Spanish, I gather the difficulty with the 't' has something to do with my native language, just like Americans have trouble rolling their 'r's.
    I'm 22 and after studying English for 9 years I finally got around to the pronunciation part. Late, I know, but I'm an expert at procrastination. I'm reading a book called 'Better English Pronunciation' (book that I've owned for 4 years, hence the procrastination bit ), it comes with a cassette full of listening-repeat exercises. I'm working on the /v/ and /f/ sounds. I have to admit, I'm sort of excited.
    My question is, am I wasting my time? I'm not delusional, I know native-like pronunciation is next to impossible at my age. But, will I be able to at least be somewhat fluent?
    Abby

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: My pronunciation stinks

Quote Originally Posted by Abigail
    I stumble over the simplest phrases. Certain words are almost impossible for me to say, like 'butter' for example (or 'schedule'). I speak Spanish, I gather the difficulty with the 't' has something to do with my native language, just like Americans have trouble rolling their 'r's.
    I'm 22 and after studying English for 9 years I finally got around to the pronunciation part. Late, I know, but I'm an expert at procrastination. I'm reading a book called 'Better English Pronunciation' (book that I've owned for 4 years, hence the procrastination bit ), it comes with a cassette full of listening-repeat exercises. I'm working on the /v/ and /f/ sounds. I have to admit, I'm sort of excited.
    My question is, am I wasting my time? I'm not delusional, I know native-like pronunciation is next to impossible at my age. But, will I be able to at least be somewhat fluent?
    Abby