English Teacher
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Belarus
Current Location
Israel
Hi,
I am a beginning teacher of English in Israel. I am going to work in High school and I am wondering what disciplinary strategies teachers use to manage disruptive behavior (except shouting and turning out of the lesson). Thanks for the answers :)

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
You need to review the school's policy and guidelines on managing discipline and what sanctions are available to teachers there against disruptive students.

Last edited by a moderator:

Walt Whitman

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
Italy
I think it's all about classroom climate. It's about the students knowing you mean business if they break the rules.
You should set them from the beginning. Rules are about behaviours that everyone needs to abide by in order to maintain a positive environment.
You could ask the students to help make up the rules. In my experience getting them involved encourages the students to be more responsive to following the rules.
BUT the trick is working hard on building positive relationships.
Relationships take more work but are powerful motivators.
Also, follow Rover’s good advice about the school’s discipline plan.
How old are the students you’re going to teach?
Let us know how you’ll go and stay positive.
WW

Dewi_13

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Dutch
Home Country
Netherlands
Current Location
Netherlands
Hello,