[General] Why my listening is not improving?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nininaz

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Italian
Home Country
Italy
Current Location
India
I have been practicing listening approximately for 2 years, 4-5 hours a day.
(TOEFL Books,Open forum,BBC,Tactics for listening, ...were my source for listening)
But why do I still have problems on this skill.I think after 2 years I should n't have any problem.
But most of the time that I listen to new context I could n't understand clearly.
what 's wrong with this?
I knew my listening is improving but I want to be perfect in this skill that I am not now.
I think my IQ is in the lowest level.

I started by A.J Hoge method.(http://effortlessenglishclub.com/)

grey guy

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Language is complex since words can have different meanings depending on their context. Once you identify the idea, the meaning and purpose of the words become clearer. Can you provide an example of a "new context" that you "couldn't understand clearly?"

sumitsssrt

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Hindi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
hello nininaz,
Actually ,this is not the problem of your IQ, this is so because you never pay attention to what everyone says.
You need to focus on the words of others.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
this is so because you never pay attention to what everyone says.
You need to focus on the words of others.

How can you possibly know this, especially when the person's post shows that they are clearly dedicated and do try hard?

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
But most of the time that I listen to new context I could n't understand clearly.