Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
French
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
Canada
English is a rich language with multitude ways to express oneself on a given topic. However, I realise that as a non anglophone, who have never been in a pure anglophone area, that my English is not well appreciated even if I studied it seriously in university and was graduated. What I think is my real problem is that I cannot figure out slang and idiomatic expresssion, which appears to be more authentic for an anglophone than an academic language; for example, it makes sense for me to say, 'payment in advance' instead of 'down-payment'. Actually, I cannot comprehend what sense that 'down' before payment can make; moreover, it sounds like improper. Nonetheless, I guess that it is the best way to be understood by an anglophone. In my Learning of English over the years, theses particularities were never seriously tackled. Please if you understand what I means try say something on it. That will allow, perhaps, allow me to look for other ways to continue my Learning in that language that I love. Also suggesting some books or other means for francophone.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
English is a rich language with a multitude of ways/multiple ways to express oneself on a given topic. However, I realise that, as a non-anglophone (no comma required here) who [strike]have[/strike] ​has never been in a pure anglophone area, that my English is not [STRIKE]well appreciated[/STRIKE] great even [STRIKE]if[/STRIKE] though I studied it [STRIKE]seriously[/STRIKE] at university and [STRIKE]was[/STRIKE] graduated.