Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Punjabi
Home Country
India
Current Location
India
I don't know whether i know english or not ??

I understand mostly anything written in english or if someone speaks to me but it comes to express my thoughts i english i don't able to express them, i have no grammar knowledge...but then why i can understand written things and spoken??

how can i overcome this problem...??

Grammar Tenses????????
Please Help me!!!!!
is someone has same problem like me please chat with me.

Thanks

Ellie 2000

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Persian
Home Country
Iran
Current Location
Australia
Yes, I have the same problem ! I can understand people and rarely have any difficulties with reading. But , I cant talk fluently and write as a native can and I always should seek for a proofreading. A friend of mine advised me that I should read lots of english books loudly and in helps me to talk more fluently and also it can make me more familiar with how I can put the words together without reading lots of grammar book and I believe it can work.
Let me know if you receive any better advice.

Charlie Bernstein

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
I don't know whether I know english or not.

I understand most [or almost] anything written in English or if someone speaks to me, but when it comes to expressing my thoughts in English, I'm not able to express them. I have no grammar knowledge. But then why can I understand writing and speech?

How can I overcome this problem? [Dots and extra question marks don't make the sentence stronger. They just make it wrong.]

Grammar Tenses????????
Please Help me!!!!!
If someone has the same problem, please chat with me.

Thanks.

Welcome, Notorious!

The answers are time and practice.

When you read or listen, you don't have to make decisions about grammar and vocabulary. The other person is doing that for you.