Post Thanks / Like

Default Interview - observed lesson help!!

Hi!
    I was wondering if anyone could help me with this - next week I have an interview for a teaching position in an independent school and as part of the interview I have to do a 20 minute observed lesson. However, this is an internal application and I know all the students (they are 3 weeks off taking their I-GCSE English, so at a fairly high level) I am a fairly new ESOL teacher and haven't done an observed lesson for an interview, especially not a complete lesson in 20mins! My question is, therefore, could anyone suggest any small areas of grammar I could do with such a group for the observed 20 min lesson? I was hoping for areas that are quite often confused or things such as the differences between "I will" and "I'm going to".
    Any suggestions would be much appreciated,
    Cheers in advance!
    Beth

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Interview - observed lesson help!!

I'd be wary of wil/going to because it could be opening a can of worms in an observed lesson as it's not that simple- I think I'm going to be sick, not will- which raises the issue of evidence now & decision now, in addition to plans, etc. There's also a grey area where both are OK. If you want to do a grammar point, then I'd choose something that is more binary, and therefore less likely to raise problems in the short time you have. However, do yo have any clues about their ethos and what they are expecting? If they are full-on communicative approach people, then grammar might not be the best approach. What do they say in their literature?

Post Thanks / Like

Hi there,