Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
Mali
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. Well I'm quite intrigued with the word 'dawn on' as what I have observed from google search is that the word is often used with "that" as in "it dawned on me that ...". I was thinking if the word can be used with a noun. My context is as follow
"mounting cases of child abuse have dawned on young couple the feasibility of entrusting elderly with the care of their children when maids have steadfastly been identified to be the culprit of the malefaction."
Well what I mean is that young couple have come to realise the possibility of entrusting their children to the elderly when maids have been evidently accused to be the person behind the mounting case of child abuse. thanks in advance!:)

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
The phrase "dawn on" means the person thinks of something he hadn't thought of before. Example: "It dawned on me that for $5 more I could have gotten unlimited talk and text.

Do you know what you should rewrite?
:)

Last edited by a moderator:

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
The context doesn't work for me.

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
You could make it work in the context by saying something like "It has dawned on many couples that it might be better to entrust the care of their children to older relatives, because of the number of cases of child abuse involving maids/nannies".

The mounting number of allegations of child abuse would have made those couples gradually realise how sensible it would be to allow parents/grandparents to look after the children. In that context, "dawn on" could work.

iereiy

Member Type