Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
Malaysia
Current Location
Malaysia
First of all, I would like to express my appreciation for this opportunity to apply for X University and this scholarship.

My name is ( ) , a 19 year old girl from a developing third world country, Malaysia. There are four members in my family: my father, mother, younger brother and me. My father is a designer while my mother is a housewife. My brother is a student studying in high school and I will be the first in my family go to a university. I graduated from a five-year secondary education system at Mount Austin High School in my country after earning my SPM certificate (equivalent with O level). Currently, I am taking a one and a half year STPM course (equivalent with A level) and will graduate at the end of the year.

Malaysia is a multi-ethnic country with three major ethnic groups: Malay, Chinese, and Indian. Living in this multicultural society makes me learn to tolerate and accept the difference in religion and cultures of others, and I believe I will adapt well to the life in Korea . As a Malaysian, I can speak 3 languages fluently, which is English, Mandarin and Malay. My proficiency in English is proven in the MUET exam (Malaysian University English Test) where I received band 4 on the test. Mandarin is my mother tongue. I studied at Foon Yew 5 Primary School in Malaysia in 2007. It is a Chinese primary school covered around of the Chinese atmosphere. The first language to communicate in the school is Mandarin, then English and Malay. After finishing my primary education, I attended Mount Austin high school which uses English and Malay as the main instruction. Knowing more than one language have enabled me to have better communication with foreigners. I strongly believe that these language advantages will promote international cultural and academic exchange at the university.