Post Thanks / Like

Question Give effect to...

I am studying for a Secretarial Diploma, and have a query regarding the use of the word "effect".

My tutor has marked my use of the word "effect" as incorrect in the following sentence:

"The judge gave effect to .....[an act of law]".

Instead, she believes I should have written "gave affect to...", which I believe is incorrect. However, she says that she has checked this with a lecturer in communications.

My Oxford dictionary gives no examples of phrases with the words "give effect to...", but I'm still convinced that I am right and she is wrong. This is important to me because the "error" occurs in an examination piece, but also because I wish to fully understand the reasons why I am either right or wrong.

Can anyone please provide some clarification?

Thanks.

Philly is offline Senior Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Give effect to...

Hi "Curious"

You're absolutely right. "Give effect to" is correct. There's also the expression "take effect".

If your tutor and the lecturer in communications don't want to take my word for it either (I'm a native speaker and I teach Business English), then you could suggest they check the spelling by googling both "give effect" and "give affect" and then judge which is the better of the two based on the number of results you get from Google. They could also check one of the online dictionaries. For example: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/To+give+effect+to

Keep in mind, native speakers also make mistakes with these two words. In your case, apparently both your tutor and the lecturer in communications have made the same mistake that some native speakers make.

Good luck in your efforts to convince.

Amy
    Last edited by Philly; 09-Jun-2006 at 12:12.

Post Thanks / Like

In my opinion,you are right ,"give effect to "means implementing some acts
    and ,to the opposite of "affect ",it is a verb which can't use like "give affect "

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome.