Post Thanks / Like

Default Teaching the IPA to ESL Students

I am a new teacher. I am wondering what age is appropriate to teach to IPA to both ESL and native English learners. Thank you.

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Japan
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Teaching the IPA to ESL Students

It depends on various factors, including the language they speak- some who are already struggling with learning a new alphabet and writing system find the IPA a burden. It also depends on the enthusiasm of the students and the teacher for it- some regard it as a bit of a bore, which can make the teaching of it difficult.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Teaching the IPA to ESL Students

Teaching a pronunciation guide before teaching English orthography can be a short cut.

Some find teaching a dictionary key first to be a short cut. Others view it as an additional burden or detour.

It is probably sufficient to say that the efficacy of using the IPA or another pronunciation guide works for some teachers.

One could teach the IPA as an orthography in 3 weeks. While many ESL teachers will use the IPA as a way of referencing English phonemes, few probably go to the trouble of teaching the entire system of representation. They probably do not test students on their ability to represent English speech in IPA notation.

If the students were to represent English speech in IPA, they would overlearn it in 3 months (as they do any highly phonemic orthography).

This has been demonstrated with very young preschool children. In one study, teachers found the approach to be a short cut to learning to read traditional text. Students who started with the dictionary key were reading traditional books at a 3rd grade level at the end of 8 months.