Post Thanks / Like

British English & American English

I am a Chinese girl, and I am a freshman in university. My major is English. My teacher told us that if you really want to speak english very frequently,you'd better choose one kind,British English or American English .It is not so good for english major students to speak a fixture english.And my teacher also said that British english sounds better but it will be a little difficult to learn.
    I want to improve my speaking English to a higher standard.So I want any of you to give me some advice.Should I try the British English or American English?Thank you very much.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: British English & American English

It's not up to us, really. You're the one who is going to have to learn it and apply it from this day up until the end of time. So, which one do you like? Consider these,

- the percentage of people in the world who speak a variety of British English; e.g., European countries, Australia, Canada, India, China, the Philippines, and more) out number those who speak American English.

However, there's also opportunity and exposure to contend with.

-American English is popular because of its Media. Media is today's Shakespeare. Everyone in the world watches USA movies, buys USA brands, and listens to USA music.

-differences in pronunciation and vocabulary shouldn't impede effective communication. But will other speakers be able to understand your accent? Which variety of English works best for you?

-how many British or American English teachers will you have access to? If you choose, say, to study American English, and your university hires a British native speaker, how will you fare?