Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Quest Guest

Unhappy help me to improve my oral communication

Hi:

I am from South India and English is my second language. I started learning English at my 3rd standard. However I studied other subjects in Tamil, which is my mother tongue. When I joined the college for a degree program, I took English medium. I struggled so much and finally passed out with 80% marks in Physics. Than I have completed MCA with good marks.

Now I am working in a good company with a good salary. When the review meeting happened last week, for the confirmation of my job, I was not able to prove myself because of my poor oral communication. The worst part is that I have to look for a new job now.

Over the period I learned to write in English. But oral communication seems to be tough for me. I joined the course for improving my accent. I practiced so much that I am able to read a paragraph with the good American accent. But I find it difficult, when I have to have a conversation with a colleague or a friend. When a situation comes for me to talk something in English, my heart started beating fast and my lips are dried; I was not able to open my mouth. By the time I open, the other person at the listening end lost the interest.

I am not in a position to spend more money on online courses. I just started earning money. I am trying the simple and economical methods: reading the newspaper aloud and practicing before the mirror. But it seems it takes too much of time to improve my oral communication. Employers want me to talk. Of course, I cannot show my written English to prove my communication skill. Soon I will be starving without a job. I have all the required skills to have a job of my interest but words to speak.

I would appreciate your valuable suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country: