Post Thanks / Like

Default need serious curriculum help!

hoping someone out there can help. i teach high school esl. i have 4 blocks of beginners (some are absolute beginners). the 2nd block of everyday i also have the intermediates so i have both beginners and intermediates at the same time for one hour and a half block every day. i am the only high school esl teacher in a town of 45,000 and get very little support from the school or the district coordinator.

they've really given me no curriculum, etc. only a copy of the district esl standards. i have a few texts including English at Your Command, High Point levels 1 & 2. i'm trying to write yearly plans and am so lost at what to teach the beginning/intermediate class. can anyone out there help with a sample syllabus or yearly plan? i'd really appreciate any help...

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: need serious curriculum help!

If they have only given you books, then use those for the curriculum. If they expect more, then they should write it themselves. Take the material covered by the books for those levels and use it as the basis.

Teaching English Games is offline Junior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • France
    Post Thanks / Like

Hello there,

Yes I agree with the previous post. Don't panic at least you HAVE books you can follow. The people who put those books together do it with a lot of thought and they are a curriculum in themselves.