• Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Spain

• Post Thanks / Like

Teachers in Spain

If any teacher could answer this, I would be very pleased.
    All the language centres in Spain advertising for ESL teachers insist that they have between one and two years experience. In this scenario, how can a new ESL teacher acquire any experience and what could be regarded as acceptable experience?
    Thanks
    Jag

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Teachers in Spain

while i'm studying english in england, there were alot of new teachers give free lessons in the centre where i was studying to gain expereince,

i think after a period of time they take experience certificate from the centre for the period they taught there,

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Spain

• Post Thanks / Like

Well said, Meshaal!
    That's what I was thinking of. Private classes and voluntary work.
    I would like to add I did acquire about eighteen months experience in a private boys school in the mid-nineties but, because of the poor working environment I don't like to take it into account. The school won't even give me a reference!
    I'd still like to hear more opinions regarding experience and qualifications required to work in language centres in Spain.
    Thanks again, Meshaal
    Jag

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Wales
      • Current Location:
      • Rwanda

• Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Jaguar View Post
    Well said, Meshaal!
    That's what I was thinking of. Private classes and voluntary work.