Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New teacher

Post Thanks / Like

Default New teacher

Hi! I am a new english language teacher for both elementary and highschool students. I got trouble on how to teach a fun, interesting and yet effective method of teaching. I need your help.....
    Thanks in advance......

Chady

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: New teacher

I think that it is the teacher not the method that makes things fun and interesting. As you develop as a teacher, you will become more confident in your teaching ability and this is your main resource. The teacher makes the course, not the method or coursebook.

Post Thanks / Like

Hi! Tdol, I think you're right. Speaking of experience which I feel inadequate enough to do it. Anyway, I have much time to learn while teaching. Thanks a lot for your opinion.
    But I need more suggestion, if you don't mind. What's the best book should I use for highschool students. You see, I am working in an english academy and they allow me choose which kind of material to use. Right now I am using "Side by Side" and "American Headway". Any suggestions?...
    Thanks!

Chady

Harry Smith is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • Armenian
      • Home Country:
      • Armenia
      • Current Location:
      • Russian Federation
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by chady View Post
    Hi! Tdol, I think you're right. Speaking of experience which I feel inadequate enough to do it. Anyway, I have much time to learn while teaching. Thanks a lot for your opinion.