• Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • South Korea
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Reading an essay from my textbook and having difficulty understanding certain parts

Hi... It's HKB. I'm now in my first year in Linguistics, honing my English and striving to become a language teacher.

Anyways, I'm reading an esssy "Denmark and the Jews", by Hannah Arendt, and although I get the general gist, there are sentences that give me a hard time. And I was wondering if you could give me a hand, I could really use it.

The essay starts out like this:

At the Wannsee Conference, Martin Luther, of the Foreign Office, warned of great difficulties in the Scandinavian countries, notably in Norway and Denmark. (Sweden was never occupied, ... ...due to Hitler's great esteem for the Finns, whom perhaps he did not want to subject to threats and humiliating blackmail.) Luther proposed postponing evacuations from Scandinavia for the time being, and as far as Denmark was concerned, this really went without saying, since the country retained its independent government, and was respected as a neutral state, until the fall of 1943, although it, along with Norway, had been invaded by the German Army in April, 1940.

I feel like I'm missing a lot of background information, which the author seems to assume as common sense. What difficulty is Luther talking about? and what evacuation? Who is evacuating from Scandinavia? and for what? and this concerns to who; to the German troops, or people living in Scandinavia? What does all this have to do with Denmark being an independent nation?

...and I have more questions:

...and Finland, though in the war on the side of the Axis, was one country the Nazis never even approached on the Jewish question.