Post Thanks / Like

Default Should non-standard English be banned in the classroom?

Hello everyone, I'm new.
    I am from Taiwan, and I am a college student.
    I am taking a linguistics class.
    I will have a debate next Mon; therefore, I would like to collect some of your opinions.

My topic will be: Should non-standard varieties of English be banned in the "classroom"?
    Examples of non-standard English would be:
    1.Black English (so-called Ebonics)
    2.African-American English
    3.Pidgin(which is spoken in Hawaii)

The context of the "classroom" could be in preschool, kindergarten, elementary school, college, and so on.

Although I am on "No" side (which indicates disagree with the question), I welcome all the opinions no matter which side you are. Please let me know what you think to this question, and please tell me why you think non-standard English should be banned or why it should NOT be banned in the "classroom".

Sample of the reply:
    1.Do you agree? Yes or No
    2.Reason:
    If you disagree to ban, the reason could be=>Students may lose interests in learning if they are not allowed to use non-standard English in the classsroom.
    If you agree to ban=>Students can understand each others well if a commom language is spoken by everyone in the classroom.

Thank you very much for taking your time to make responses.

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Should non-standard English be banned in the classroom?

No, they shouldn't