Post Thanks / Like

Default A specific term for this type of clause?

Hello. I am a music student working on an undergraduate thesis project and I need help identifying a certain sentence structure The sentence is:

Nineteen forty-one, I guess it must have been.

The speaker of this sentence gives a rising inflection to the syllable "one," which, in english, generally constitutes a question. I need to be able to discuss this inflection, and the question-like properties of the sentence, but this is a bit triky to my somewhat limited knowledge of english structure. It becomes even trickier when you take into account that a sentence phrased like this one is not necessarily proper spoken english. It is more of a casual way in which people often speak. Obviously the sentence is neither a direct nor an indirect question. Are there any terms for a clause such as "I guess it must have been" that create a sense of questioning from an otherwise neutral statement such as "nineteen forty-one?"

It may be kind of a long shot, but I thought maybe somebody out there could help!

Thanks.
    Aaron

riverkid is offline Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: A specific term for this type of clause?

Aaron wrote: It becomes even trickier when you take into account that a sentence phrased like this one is not necessarily proper spoken english. It is more of a casual way in which people often speak.

Hi Aaron. Let's deal with what you wrote here first. Your example is perfectly proper spoken English. Casual English doesn't mean improper English. That's an old canard that has been perpetuated by people who never really looked at how language works.

The Cambridge Grammar of English states it like this:

"It's not that formal style keeps to the rules and informal departs from them; rather, formal and informal styles have partially different rules."