Thread: The articles

Post Thanks / Like

Question The articles

Hello, my name is erihime. This is my first time to post here. I am a Japanese and have been learning English quite some time.

Among other things, the usage of the articles is the most difficult and complicated thing for me. Whenever I write, I have to stop and think...

"Do I need 'the' here or 'a'?"

Let me give you an example.

"I used to go to a department store."

By adding 'a' in front of the word 'department store', did I generalize the deparment stores? or should I have written "I used to go to the department stores"?

I always feel lost with the articles. Could somebody give me some examples of sentences in which I can see where to (not to) use the articles, please?

If you could also provide me with some titles of the books which explain the usage o the articles, I really appreciate it.

Thank you very much.

erihime

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: The articles

Articles are a feature of European languages, and they can be difficult if you're not used to them.

The rules are sometimes a bit complicated, but the most important rule is this: When we use "the", it means: "You know which one I am talking about."

If you tell me, "I used to go to a department store", then either you think I have no way of knowing which department store, or it's not important which one.

But if you tell, "I used to go to the department store", they you are telling me that you think I know which department store. It might be the department store we mentioned earlier in the conversation; or it might be the only department store in town.

A few more examples:

When I was last in London, I visited the Queen. (There is only one possible Queen I could be talking about, because there is [usually] only one Queen you could visit in London: Queen Elizabeth, the Queen of England.)

Canberra is the capital city of Australia. (Australia only has one capital city.)

There's a cat in our garden. (I don't know which cat.)