Thread: firstly . . .

Post Thanks / Like

Question firstly . . .

I am a native English speaker; my profession is English-language editing. I work with many scientists. A lot of these people insist on starting sentences with "Firstly . . . " and "Secondly . . ." etc. These are not native English speakers.
    I always change it to "First" "Second" etc., because to me, adding the "ly" makes it an adverb, which makes no sense at all.
    Does anyone know what is correct? Is this perhaps a British-English way of speaking/writing?
    Thanks!
    susan

Post Thanks / Like

Re: firstly . . .

Welcome .
    You raised very important question .
    I haven`t listen ( Firstly ) yet !
    I really hope any one tell us .

First of all .. this we may used in written or speaking . But , I don`t know about ( Firstly ) .

Post Thanks / Like

I don't know the answer (I personally use "first of all" or "first off"), so I did an internet search and came up with:
    The Mavens' Word of the Day
    and:
    "Bob Dotson, of West Bloomfield, Mich., writes: “It seems to me that lots of people overuse certain words that end in ‘-ly,’ but I’m not sure I know all the rules. I know better than to say ‘I feel badly,’ and when trying to emphasize a point, I think it’s correct to say ‘more important,’ rather than importantly’ -- but I’m not sure why that’s the case. I also believe that when listing related thoughts, standard English calls for ‘first,’ ‘second’ and ‘third,’ rather than ‘first,’ ‘secondly’ and ‘thirdly.’”