Post Thanks / Like

Systemic Functional Linguistics

I am completing a M.Ed(TESOL) online and focussing on SFL. I teach English in Japan. Prior to starting this course I had a fair knowledge of English grammar but had not formally studied linguistics. I find this Hallidayan perspective of linguistics quite interesting and challenging and am using basic elements of it in my classes. However, as regards linguistics I still feel like a pygmy reaching for the shelf. I am quite isolated in my studies and is there anybody out there studying SFL with whom I can exchange ideas?
    John Curran

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Systemic Functional Linguistics

Ahh, John! Just the man I'm looking for. I am a tutor with roots in traditional grammar making the jump to linguistics. I would be delighted to try to help you/us de-isolate ourselves!!

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Mark,
    An Aussie! How delightful! My 2 grown-up children live in Adelaide. I am an Englishman and living a second life and career in Tokyo. Pity about the ashes last year!
    I have almost finished a M.Ed (TESOL) online with University of Tasmania. It should be completed this month. It has been a lonely two year slog with text books and occasional help on the internet. It has given me a good insight into the language but the practical implications for TEFL are questionable. I wonder why a TESOL course puts so much emphasis on linguistics! I had thought that a Masters might get me a part-time job at a local university and it still might but ageism is pretty rampant here (in some areas) and a greybeard might be kicked out the door.
    No worries though because I immensely enjoy my adult classes and my adoring women students. I do use some elements of SFL in a practical way - such as identifying different processes, thematic progression etc.
    Sorry to take such a long time to reply but have been busy - including two trips to Adelaide where the golf is good and inexpensive.
    Hope to hear from you.
    Jack