• English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China
    Post Thanks / Like

Default a huge question, but I really need help.

Dear Teachers,
    I am studying one article Is Storytelling Dead? It talks about TV. it was written by Douglas Rushkoff, published in TV World, Oct. 1996.

this article is very difficult for me, although I know most of the words, I can not grasp its idea. I subtracted some text which are most puzzling here.

I know this question is huge, but you know I am a teacher of English, I am to teach this article in ten days. so my students and I really need your help.

the following is the selected text, the blue parts are my questions.

Our kids don't even go to rock concerts anymore; they go to raves, where there's no sexy singer for everyone to face. The rave dance, a spiritual event, is a great example of the third cultural phase, what I call "recapitulation".

-------- What is a rave? why is it a spiritual event?

Rather than relating to someone else's spiritual story, young people create their own. The rave event recapitulates a spiritual truth. It is spirituality. The monetary equivolent of recapitulation is the Federal Reserve note. It is cash, but it has no value in relation to some real metal. The dollar recapitulates the original function of money. It is money.

--------What the hell does " recapitulate" mean? I looked it up, dictionary says it means "describe what has already been done or decided, without repeating the details." and recapitulate=recap. but this explanation does not make sense here. this word is the key to my questions
    --------why does cash have no value?

The recapitulation of TV (subtitle)