Thread: layed or lay

Anonymous Guest

Default layed or lay

Would you say 'I am doing an English degree or would it be said as I am studying an English degree?

Also,

Is the correct pronunciation the dog lay down or the dog layed down?

I am studying English, would you say that it is appropriate to call some English bad and some good? :)

Post Thanks / Like

Hello Miss Walker,

I am not a teacher here but am pretty sure that you have to say: "The dog lay down" (from the verb "to lie").

As for the first sentence, why not simply say: "I am studying English" ?

RonBee is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: layed or lay

Quote Originally Posted by jessica walker
    Would you say 'I am doing an English degree or would it be said as I am studying an English degree?
    Say: "I am studying for an English degree." Or, even better, say: "I am studying for a degree in English."

Also,

What Buuerkes said. :wink:

I am studying English, would you say that it is appropriate to call some English bad and some good? :)
    That is a subject of endless debate. I would say yes.

:)

MikeNewYork is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: layed or lay

[quote="jessica walker"]Would you say 'I am doing an English degree or would it be said as I am studying an English degree?[quote]

The suggestions you have received are good ones. "Doing" a degree is commonly used, but that use of "do" is very informal. One could say one is pursuing/earning/working toward/ a degree in English. Of course, I am studying English works too.