Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    kartalserkan is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Cool Why do we learn foreign languages??

I have a project about "why do we learn foreign languages?" and I want to ask that question to you?? If you share your thoughts with me I will be happy. Because I want to collect different ideas from different people from different nations and nationalities.
    Thank you for your help!!!

Ouisch is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Why do we learn foreign languages??

I was born and raised in the Detroit area of the US. I studied French and Spanish in high school, as those were the only two foreign languages offered. French was probably by far the more popular class among students, since we lived so close to Canada.

However, years later, I took additional Spanish courses because my job required me to interact with employees at Volkswagen de Mexico. The US has had a significant influx of Spanish-speaking immigrants in the last 20 years, but they are (for the most part) in Chicago, New York, California, Florida, and other southern states. A person fluent in both English and Spanish would be able to get any number of customer service positions in any of those areas.

In the metro Detroit area, where I still live, we have the largest number of Arab-Americans in the entire United States. Certainly it would be of benefit for business people in this area to speak Arabic. From a commercial point of view, imagine being the only bank or appliance store or grocery store in the area that has employees fluent in Arabic? You would guarantee yourself a large percentage of business.

Dany is offline Senior Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Hello,