Thread: Formal e-mail

Post Thanks / Like

Default Formal e-mail

Hi everyone, I am new at this and I need some help (I believe this is what everyone says at begining) I need to write a formal e-mail. Here is my draft, but I am not totally convinced, I mean, I think there is something wrong, could anyone help me out here? Thanks

----
    Dear Mr. XXX,
    I write to you in order to ask you for some information about IACAP. At the moment I reside in Argentina and I am very interested in doing philosophical research on those topics members of IACAP do. This is why I would need information about people who are doing this kind of research in Latin America (specially here in Argentina)
    On the other hand, I am planning to study abroad, but I could not find any PhD schoolarships for latin-americans and I would like to know if there are any. My case is quite particular since I've got my degree on Computer Science and I'm getting my degree on Philosophy this year. I am also a researcher in a group that is interested on the philosophical problems of Scientific Simulation and Representation (with special care on lectures about computational simulation).
    Maybe this information could give you some idea about my philosophical interest and give me some orientation about what to do and what could be done.

Thank you very much
    Yours sincerely
    -----

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Formal e-mail

I write- I am writing
    ask you for- request
    on those topics members of IACAP do- unclear- on topics that IACAP members research???
    On the other hand, - Furthermore,
    I've got my degree on- I have graduated in xxx and will graduate in xxx this year
    interested on- in
    special care- in particular