Anonymous Guest

Default difficulties in translation

BGstudent: Hello, dear moderators! I found this site by chance and I'm very glad that it exists. I am a Bulgarian student in English language and literature and I am preparing for my state exam. I have translated some excerpts from Bulgarian books but I am not quite sure that the meaning in English is quite clear. Would you check them?

1. Very often when a fatal accident tears the calm rosary of the human days, suddenly and irretrievably everything become perplexed: the beads unstring, scatter and intermingle; then a person stands hopelessly among them unable to establish order in this chaos, which befell him unexpectedly. And the things would be the same in the present story, which drew our attention, if it was a story like all the others. But if it was a story like all the others- would it be of interest and what would be the need of relating it.

2.(On) the next morning whileI was still in bed I read Irina's letter. She sent it in spring and I always carry it in me. OR She had sent it in spring and I always carried in me.
    It seems that she didn't write at once, she was forced to interrupt it. And perhaps, she didn't want to hurry through, she thought over it longer. And not only because of the importance of what she had wanted to tell me rather that it was pleasure for her to talk to me longer.

BGstudent: Except the first sentence I am not sure which tense is better to use- Present Simple or Past Perfect?

MikeNewYork is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: difficulties in translation

Quote Originally Posted by student-bg