Post Thanks / Like

Editing needed!!

Each FL/SL teacher needs to have a minimum knowledge of the merits and demerits of adopting a textbook in a literacy course; which might be one of the reasons for FL/SL teachers to read this chapter. Although adopting a text in a course depends mostly on both students’ needs and institutions requirements, L2 literacy programs need most to be text book based, I guess. It is more to help teachers have a clear vision of their goals and objectives than a call for a rigid and guided instruction. Relying on a textbook should not be in any way a means to limit teachers’ creativity. If the textbook is well selected, it should be flexible; it is flexibility that leaves the door open for teachers to adapt, add, or exclude materials according to emergent students needs.
    As an EFL student I find it more interesting and secure to have a text book in hand during my first years of learning English. I believe, though, that it depends on learners’ level and their academic goals. Having comprehensive and up-to-date textbooks, which include variety of engaging activities, will be of great help to low proficiency learners. Beginners and low proficiency L2 learners need more guided and control tasks to help them frame and initiate a writing process. (Ferris & Hedgcock, 2004). On the other hand, highly proficient learners need more argumentative topics; they need to read different genres having in mind some argumentative questions to develop what is called “argumentative literacy”.( Schomoker,2007).