Post Thanks / Like

Default Disagreement with posted answer.

Hi,

I have just found this site and think it is excellent.

I am a retired, well-read 71 year old male. English is my first language and have not had any formal training as a teacher of English. Like all of us, I am still learning. I have had two years classroom experience as a teacher of English to adult migrants and now correspond with approximately 30 students of English from around the world. I correct their grammar (to the best of my ability).

I have tended to disagree with a couple of postings that were in answer to grammar queries on this site.

As I said, I am a continual learner but have the urge to express my disagreement with the posting. I am always willing to accept correction to my objection but my problem is this: although I am a gentle debater I do not want it to appear to learners to be getting into a bun fight with a teacher. The teacher/contributor may lose face in the eyes of students and make them distrust the answers posted.

Would it be better to 'pm' the poster and discuss my feelings on a posting or display the discussion for all.

I would love to get some direction on this.

Many thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Disagreement with posted answer.

Quote Originally Posted by HotWombat
    ...:although I am a gentle debater I do not want it to appear to learners to be getting into a bun fight with a teacher. The teacher/contributor may lose face in the eyes of students and make them distrust the answers posted.
    Hello,

Nice to meet you! :D