elbe is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Better ways to teach pronunciation.

'lo fellow forum users,

Please help me to find ways to better inform myself about how I can teach pronunciation more effectively.

As an English pronunciation teacher I observe many acquirers/learners with good English grammar, reading and writing skills. Sadly, their English pronunciation is often not listener-friendly enough to keep American native speakers engaged in conversation.

I want to find ways to better help them to acquire more listener-friendly pronunciation in the classroom, to develop more confidence and motivation, and get out and converse much more with native speakers, where the greatest second language acquisition occurs.

Where might I look for a “supercharged immersion boot camp” situation where they might acquire listener-friendly pronunciation faster then usual?

Tyvm for your help.

kind regards,

elbe

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Better ways to teach pronunciation.

[CAUTION: I am not a teacher:take the advice and or corrections offered in this post at your own risk.
    If you doubt the information, please get a qualified opinion from one of the teachers on these forums.]

I would try to address serious pronunciation problems on three fronts.

(1)The alphabet and phonetic symbols

Many language learners become quite advanced in reading and writing while retaining only a foggy notion of the relationship between the symbols of English writing and their pronunciation.

For these students they should be introduced to the nuance and difference between each symbol and combination thereof. This can be tedious and difficult, but is necessary to the mechanical understanding of pronunciation, especially if a majority of their ideas about how words should be pronounced comes from writing.