Thread: What are these?

Lovely Star Pupil Guest

Question What are these?

Hi !
    I'm a student. I have a question about the name of the following words. Can anyone help me out?
    My question is;
    What are have to, about to and going to? Are these three Modal Auxiliary Verbs, Expressions or something else?
    I've read so many books to find out the exact answer to my question but I still haven't got it. The grammar books are silent in this regard. Only one book says that about to is the Modal Auxiliary Verb.
    If you can tell me the names according to Parts of Speech or Grammar by splitting words apart, it'll be easier for me to understand and quench the thirst of knowing what accually I want to know e.g. I have done my homwork. I is the subject of the sentence, have is a principal auxiliary verb used to form the Present Perfect Tense, done is the past prticiple of do (third form of the verb)(transitive), my is the possesive adjective and in the end homework is an uncountable noun used here as the object of the verb done.

victor su is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Interested in Language
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile Re: What are these?

Quote Originally Posted by Lovely Star Pupil View Post
    Hi !
    I'm a student. I have a question about the name of the following words. Can anyone help me out?
    My question is;
    What are have to, about to and going to? Are these three Modal Auxiliary Verbs, Expressions or something else?
    I've read so many books to find out the exact answer to my question but I still haven't got it. The grammar books are silent in this regard. Only one book says that about to is the Modal Auxiliary Verb.