Thread: Kosovo

McPherson is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Kosovo

Hi,

Hope someone could check this SP for applying some programme about International Security and NATO.

Thanks in advance!
    Marko

Hello,

I’m a student of journalism on Faculty of Political Sciences in Belgrade. Euro-atlantic integrations of Serbia are my field of interest, and, as I consider myself as a future political reporter or even a politician, I believe that this programme about International Security and NATO could be very useful to me.

Seven years has passed since my country had started it’s trip to the democratic society, and we still face with some old problems and questions. During this program, I expect to find out about the experiences in transition of Central European countries in joining the NATO alliance, and learn from their experience in reforming it’s armed forces and making them capably to resolve security issues and cooperate with neighbours. In short – what is Serbia’s recipe for finding a way to cooperate and work on relations with NATO? I’m very curious to talk with the experts in this field about pros and cons of Serbia’s joining NATO alliance, particularly in context of new anti-NATO rhetoric of mayor Democratic Party of Serbia (which is one of the coalition partners in the cabinet), and it’s decision to remove Belgrade's full fledged membership in the Alliance as the party's goal. Also, I have a personal dilemma - could NATO and EU integrations be separate issues for Serbia? Is it possible, in our case, to stay out of NATO and join EU? And how does NATO bombing of Yugoslavia in 1999. affects the public opinion on this issue?