• Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Vietnam
    Post Thanks / Like

Teaching natives vs. Teaching foreigners

I'm currently trying to decide on my English teaching future. I have a degree in Film and TV Studies, and am interested in doing a PGCE in secondary English here in the UK (which I am reliably informed my degree qualifies me to do). But I'm also interested in teaching English in Japan at some point in the future and would like to have the flexibility to do both (the plan being that if I like the country I'll stay, and if I don't, I'll teach at home). So how well would the PGCE prepare me for teaching in a Japanese high/junior high school? Other than the obvious huge amount of teaching experience you get doing one. How different is teaching English as a second language compared to a first?

I know the obvious solution would be to do a CELTA alongside it, but I have limited funds.

Incidentally, I know that lots of Japanese teachers are always complaining about having proper qualified teachers, so I'd hope to become one of them.

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Japan
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Teaching natives vs. Teaching foreigners