kaiyeungwong is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

I am a student from HK...plz comment on my essays...many thx~

Last edited by kaiyeungwong; 01-Dec-2007 at 05:28.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: I am a student from HK...plz comment on my essays...many thx~

Question:

Queen’s Pier has become the second battlefield for conservationists and the government over heritage conservation following the Star Ferry saga which saw the iconic landmark demolished amid a public outcry.

Write a letter to the SCMP to argue EITHER for OR against demolition.

My essay:

Dear sir,

I am writing to express my concern over the demolition of historical buildings, a topic that has recently inaugurated much public brawling. In fact, and to be perfectly honest, I chafe at the idea of disassembly.

While the Chief Executive on the one hand is reassuring everyone, that the government will put heritage conservation on the very top of its priority list; Star Ferry Pier, Queen’s Pier, and countless other less known are on the other hand being dismantled, alluding once again that economic benefits can always surpass and supersede cultural values and the will of the majority.

Undoubtedly, more space for economic use means more money flowing into the Treasury, but wrecking sites that are, as most senile citizens can attest, riddled and besprent with collective memories to achieve this goal? I think they have missed the point.

Very true indeed, Hong Kong is now in a desperate need of land. You can see traffic jams are pervasive every day and everywhere. This need becomes even more conspicuous after the government’s submission to renounce the landfilling project temporarily. In view of these, measures to relieve traffic congestion should actually be welcomed cordially, but that particular measure has to be effective in the first place.