bdsudek is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

help for new teacher

Does anyone feel up to mentoring me? I'll be looking for help. I am a substitute teacher, MA in English, no teaching credentials, and I am being assigned to an ESL, ELL class starting tomorrow. From what I can gather, I'll be there through next week, maybe longer. There is no other teacher, but they don't want to make me any promises.

I'm working in an area that is probably 80% hispanic. Our entire district (las vegas, NV, Clark County School District) is over 50% hispanic in total. I have a few Spanish skills.

I went by the classroom today, and the sub showed me what the teacher left, and there were only two days of lesson plans. One is still left. It's an American Folk tale about Sloe Foot Sue. I'm sure that will work for a day. I don't know if I would choose something like that for ELL kids, but then what do I know about it? I have to look up "sloe." That's not a good sign for either of us.

There is no text. I asked the principal's secretary who I should report to, and she told me to go to the Special Ed teacher or the head of the English Dept. I don't know how much help they can be.

Helper(s) wanted.

Thanks.

Barbara

riverkid is offline Banned
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: help for new teacher

Quote Originally Posted by bdsudek View Post
    Does anyone feel up to mentoring me? I'll be looking for help. I am a substitute teacher, MA in English, no teaching credentials, and I am being assigned to an ESL, ELL class starting tomorrow. From what I can gather, I'll be there through next week, maybe longer. There is no other teacher, but they don't want to make me any promises.

I'm working in an area that is probably 80% hispanic. Our entire district (las vegas, NV, Clark County School District) is over 50% hispanic in total. I have a few Spanish skills.