Cheedo is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Paradoxical explanation

Hello,

I am French and I am a young English teacher. I have a little but very annoying problem to explain to my pupils the using of the future. Why? In France, it is commonly (and only) explain to us at school that we use "will + the infinitive form" to express the idea of the future.

ex : "I will tidy up my room next week!"

Now, how can I properly explain to my pupils that we also use the Present progressive or the Simple Present to express the Future?

ex : "Tomorrow, everybody is going to school" for the Present Progressive and "We leave from Gatwick at 7 tomorrow morning and we arrive at Charles de Gaulle at 9" for the Simple Present.

It definitely sounds parodoxical for a French native speaker and it is very difficult for me to explain even if it seems easy for a native English speaker. Is anybody is able to give me an answer? Thank you very much.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Paradoxical explanation

Do the children grasp the Historical Present, where we imagine it happening right now, in front of our eyes? The reason we use it is to add to the vividness, the immediacy of the action.
    Similarly, I hope someone will be able to explain for you and me, why we use the tenses you are enquiring about.

As for the first, perhaps if they could imagine themselves transported into the future, and describing what they are doing or seeing. "I see all the pupils and they are all going to school." But again, as with the Present Progressive, I'm stuck trying to put into words, why?.
    I hope your post prompts a lot of responses, gets a few minds working on this one for you.

Post Thanks / Like

Unlike French, English has no true future tense. What is called the "will-future" is actually the present tense of the modal auxiliary "will".

There are a number of different ways of expressing things that will happen in the future:

Making predictions