Jascha24 Guest

Default Conversational tautologies

Hi everyone!
    I am a German student writing a scientific paper on conversational tautologies like "Boys will be boys", "War is war" or "A husband is a husband". Now I need some help from experts and native speakers.

I read, for example that the tautology "A husband is a husband" can have no less than four interpretations. These are the notions of obligation (there are obligations to fulfill towards one’s husband), appreciation (husbands do have positive aspects), indifference (one husband is not worse or better than another) and absolute generalization (all husbands are the same, one knows what to expect from them).

Now I wonder, when tautologies do not seem to work anymore. Obviously, the notion of generalization is lost the more specific the utterance is.
    Example: "Aimless linguistic approaches will be aimless linguistic approaches"

I also found an utterance that made me wonder whether this can still be seen as a tautology:
    “Maybe linguists are linguists because they can’t have any fun of their own with language.”

Would you say that this is a tautology?

Thanks a lot for answers, ideas and criticism!

PS: Do you know other language or linguistic forums where I could post my questions?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Conversational tautologies

An interesting question.
    The first two phrases you give as examples ('Boys will be boys' and 'War is war') are such frequently used expressions that they now have a fixed meaning - that boys behave badly and that bad things happen in war time.

The use of other phrases, such as 'Phrasal verbs will be phrasal verbs', for example, although not commonly used, would imply the same attitude of resigned acceptance of the negative aspects of the subject of the sentence. Maybe the implication is 'It's just the way things are, so there's not much we can do about it.'