Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Englishlanguage is offline Member
    Post Thanks / Like

learning 2 or more languages simultanously

Hello everydoby,
    I have some questions for you about multiple language learning.
    Do you think it is possible to successfully learn two or more languages simultanously?
    If you think it is, how do you think this may affect the process of language acquisition?
    Do you think it will only slow you down or might it be an intelligent means for learning languages faster?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: learning 2 or more languages simultanously

Why not? You can even be a master in both languages.

When I was a freshman, students were to learn another foreign language. Many students excelled in French, others in German.

Anglika is offline No Longer With Us
    Post Thanks / Like

In the past in English school, pupils would be taught Latin, Greek and French, with no basic detriment [apart from the usual resistances]. I've known people learn French and German, or French and Russian. My nieces were brought up with two languages, English and German, and one has gone on to learn Swedish and French. And in Holland it is normal to learn three languages.

I think the answer is that it should not be a problem. It is of course easier if your languages are derived from the same origins. There is some evidence to show that learning two languages at once improves the learning ability.

Post Thanks / Like

Thank you for your replies.
    Some people say that learning more langauges at once may slow down the process of language acquisition and get the learner to mix them up, especially if they are similar (similar to the learner's mother tounge and between them).
    What do you think about this?
    I think the similarity to one's mother tounge can only make one learn the language faster.
    If that was true, it may be a good idea to start learning them simultanously only after you have learned the basis of the languages.