Thread: Young students

rossjk1 is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Young students

I am a freelance english teacher in switzerland and im having difficulty in adapting my teaching method for the different students owing to the large age gaps between them.
    I have two at around 7 years old,
    two at 11 years old,
    one at 12 years old,
    one at 30 years old
    and another at 40 years old.

Previously i was teaching adults which i was coping fine with but particularly with the youngest im having difficulty with keeping there lessons interesting for them. They are more interested in video games than learning english. Particularly with one of the eight year olds. Im battling to stimulate an interest in reading. I have tried numerous differnt approaches to getting him to read(all kind of books!) The only one so far he has taken an interest in is asterix!!!I also have great difficulty with getting him to do grammar. We have started cambridge messengers 1 with him. He has the level for it easily but getting him to concentrate is another thing!!He pretends to not know the answers to any of the questions to test me!Its very testing!!!!!!!

Thanks for your help.

beascarpetta is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Great Britain
      • Current Location:
      • Austria
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Young students

I'm not quite clear on how advanced this obnoxious eight-year old's English is.
    Couldn't you bring in some visual stimuli like DVDs (with English subtitles) and have him fill in a questionnaire afterwards?

Let me know if you need any stuff since I've got eleven-year-olds on my hands and their English is poor at best.
    Still,they took to 'Pirates of the Caribbean'(highly unsuitable for an eight-year old I might add) like ducks to water.

Teaching English Games is offline Junior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type: