• Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Taiwan
      • Current Location:
      • Taiwan
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Language teaching problem

Dear all,

I'm currently a TCSL student and have just read this article that talks about the problem regarding teaching Chinese as a second language in Taiwan.
    http://scottsommers.blogs.com/taiwan...auge_te_1.html

It points out that "One of the more bizarre aspects of Mandarin language instruction in Taiwan is the reliance on English."
    The writer suggests that Mandarin teachers in Taiwan almost universally use one of the worst language education textbooks ever written, which is translated into English for students.
    And says that if they (ESL teachers in Taiwan) taught English the way they had been taught Chinese, they'd be fired.
    The conclusion is that "The problem in Taiwan is that their methods are not just not fully developed, they are methods that everyone else has discarded."

I'd like to know how everybody from different countrys with a differt mother tongue learns Chinese(or your second language)?
    Don't you learn your second language with help from your first language?
    And, how about in China? What's the Chinese as a second language teaching method in China?
    (If there's anyone here who has been to China to study Chinese...)
    Do Chinese teachers in China teach foreigners Chinese in Chinese only?
    How can this be achieved when the students are bignners who don't know a single word in Chinese?
    And, what is a so-called "fully-developed teaching method" like?

If there's a Chinese (or a teaching *** as a second language) teacher here who knows how to handle this practically,
    please share it in details with me!!
    I'd be really, really appreciated...

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location: