Thread: A New Immigrant

dalijaz02 is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default A New Immigrant

When I came for first time to The United States, I was very surprised because the United States is very different to my country. Iím from to Dominican Republic which is a small country in comparison with this country; I was in the John F. Kennedy airport with my mother and my brother when I saw a police officer asking a question to my mother in English but she couldnít answer because she doesnít speak English, I studied English in Dominican Republic and I answered the question. At that moment, I began to think that I will need to learn English to be successful here.

When I walked in the streets for first time, I was surprised because I saw many buildings are too big and the streets are long and wide. In my country there are no buildings and street like here, the houses and buildings are small and narrow and many cities. In the first week I was excited, I went to many places, I went to visit my whole family, but in the second week, I was bored because I always was alone in the apartment, my mother and father was worked and I did not had nothing to do, for that I began to look for a job, but it was hard to find because I did not knew speak English too much and in New York City there are many people who came from different countries.