• Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default how to teach pronunciation

I am a teacher and writer. My strength is in grammar. My boss from Korea wants me to teach a young student pronunciation. The boss said she is already fluent in English, but wants an American accent. I think this is the tougher side of teaching. I am familiar with the international phonetics. If my student can use that , I will demonstrate sounds for her.

While teaching, I saw and used textbooks that describe mouth parts and how to shape them to form sounds. Even when using this, my students did not gain much from my instruction. I need a better technique. I think listening to examples is part of the best way, but that is not enough.

What can I do to teach a Korean student the American pronunciation?

(I hope none of the future students asks me to teach British pronunciation. I'm not from England. I simply can't teach it correctly.)

oregeezer is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Thailand
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: how to teach pronunciation

Try recording their speech and then critique the tape. They can learn to do this themselves and it will help them to listen more closely. Talk about stress and rhythm.
    Good luck!

GaryEM is offline Junior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

I like the self recording idea. I will provide recordings of myself too.

chahuiseaweed is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like