• Post Thanks / Like

Difficult children

Hello!

I need help with some kids I'm working with. They are almost impossible to teach: They are in 2º grade, but 2 of them still don't know how to read, 6 of them have serious learning dissabilities, 3 are extremely agressive (I've been told not to contradict them or I may get hurt... and they are 6 years old!) and the rest doesn't work for more than 15 minutes.

Resign is not an option. If somebody has any ideas of extremely interesting classes (will are in seeing Family trees, possesions and that kind of stuff), or a web page with the master secret of how to teach such people, I'll be delighted to know.

I thought in divide them into 3 or 4 groups, mixing good students with not so good ones, and try to praise them with candies or balloons if they work well, but I'm not sure if that would work.

Thank you all.

This is my first post
    and I'm a first-time teacher (in a bad school, it's not my imagination! No teacher lasts here for more than 2 months).

Well.... HELP!!

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Difficult children

Te acompaño en el sentimiento
    (My condolences).

I'm sorry, my post won't help you much; but I didn't want yours to go unanswered.

On a lighter note, maybe you posted it in the wrong forum mate. This one is "Ask a teacher".

Try in the "Miracles" section.

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Retired English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

• Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BravoAl View Post
    Hello!

I need help with some kids I'm working with. They are almost impossible to teach: They are in 2º grade, but 2 of them still don't know how to read, 6 of them have serious learning dissabilities, 3 are extremely agressive (I've been told not to contradict them or I may get hurt... and they are 6 years old!) and the rest doesn't work for more than 15 minutes.